Author Topic: Speedometer trouble  (Read 6013 times)

lexgtturbo

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Speedometer trouble
« on: 14:40, Thu 29 May 2008 »
After I got my car back from respray the entire instrument panel died. The list of things no longer doing theyre job consists of:
Tachometer
Speedometer
Oilpressure gauge
Fuel guage

The strange thing is that no wires has been cut, so everything should be good but its still not working :evil:

Still all the lights in the panel are working, i have no idea what to do.
please help me out on this one..

5teve L

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3540
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 15:35, Thu 29 May 2008 »
Pull the panel out & clean the terminals up then push them on again.. a bit odd if the lights work though, maybe the plugs are unplugged.

lexgtturbo

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 15:41, Thu 29 May 2008 »
allready done that. Ive tested with 3 different instrument panels, same problem on all of them. all the plugs are in but still theres no reaction.  :(

the dash is removed from the car so that i can change the heater matrix which is leaking...

Ash-Lee

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4208
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 16:02, Thu 29 May 2008 »
Theres an earth wire that is bolted to the steering rack, if you have removed that to take the dashboard out it might be related.

lexgtturbo

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 18:55, Thu 29 May 2008 »
DOH! ill check it tomorrow when i get to the garage  :lol:

lexgtturbo

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 20:15, Thu 29 May 2008 »
change of plans visited the garage today after all...

ive found one brown wire with a white plastic cover that doesnt go to anything, but i cant seem to find anything to connect it to...   :?

going to take some pictures and post them because its all too complex to describe with words.

lexgtturbo

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 21:07, Thu 29 May 2008 »
and heres the pictures, sorry about the bad quality...

The back side of one of the 3 panels ive tried.  :?
the brown wire goes from the plug going into the speedometer directly...


Heres the contact i cant find out where to plug in.


As I said earlier, sorry about the quality and only 2 pics, didnt have much time today.

Ash-Lee

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4208
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 22:51, Thu 29 May 2008 »
The only single wire i remember being down there is the one that connects onto the choke lever for the light on the dashboard.

But the one in your picture looks to be in the wrong place so i doubt it's that.  :shock:

There not the clearest of diagrams but maybe the wiring diagrams at the back of the Haynes book might be of some help?

lexgtturbo

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 22:56, Thu 29 May 2008 »
Dammit! guess ill have to order that one to... hehe

oh well, i doubt it has anything to do with all of the guages.
oh and the choke light works just fine, like all the other lights.

DAMN French electronics  :evil:

smithsgtt

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1021
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: 23:06, Thu 29 May 2008 »
Quote from: "Ash-Lee"
The only single wire i remember being down there is the one that connects onto the choke lever for the light on the dashboard.

But the one in your picture looks to be in the wrong place so i doubt it's that.  :shock:

There not the clearest of diagrams but maybe the wiring diagrams at the back of the Haynes book might be of some help?


remember everything on his car will be the other way around as he's in NORWAY

lexgtturbo

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: 23:08, Thu 29 May 2008 »
oh forgot to specify that  :lol:

smithsgtt

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1021
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: 23:14, Thu 29 May 2008 »
i knwo this sounds stupid but what was the guages like before you took it to get resprayed ????

lexgtturbo

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: 23:16, Thu 29 May 2008 »
all gauges were workin perfect exept for the speedometer and oil pressure gauge which were a bit on and of...

smithsgtt

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1021
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: 23:16, Thu 29 May 2008 »
and that single wire is for the choke lever in norway lol

it goes down to the left of the steerign wheel lol.

havev you check to see if there is any power coming through to the guages that dont work??? if you need the numers for which is which let me know

Ash-Lee

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4208
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: 23:18, Thu 29 May 2008 »
For everything to fail like that, even after trying differents sets of clocks and adding into account it has been recently sprayed i still think it might be a dodgy earth wire.