Author Topic: rad fan  (Read 2602 times)

karlr5

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
rad fan
« on: 21:58, Mon 05 September 2011 »
im planning on changing my std rad to a alloy rad,but i was unsure about using a standard rad fan are they good enough for coolin as ive never used a std rad fan berfore(mine came with a air con cooloin fan from a corsa with the pins pushed through the rad)

tubbyG

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
Re: rad fan
« Reply #1 on: 22:46, Mon 05 September 2011 »
I use a standard rad and fan with a lower temp fan switch and I have never had any overheating issues with this setup.

As long as the cooling system is in good order you will be fine.  :D

Ash-Lee

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4208
    • View Profile
Re: rad fan
« Reply #2 on: 23:18, Mon 05 September 2011 »
Standard fans are fine.

There not exactly quiet though!

karlr5

  • 170BHP Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: rad fan
« Reply #3 on: 23:53, Mon 05 September 2011 »
ok cheers boys as i didnt want to get a brand new alloy rad and have to push them dodgy cable tie fixings through my new rad

brainz

  • 130BHP Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: rad fan
« Reply #4 on: 12:17, Tue 06 September 2011 »
hi i was going to make a post but because this is a about the rad fan il post here. does anybody know how to wire the fan up to a switch on the dash?

denty225

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: rad fan
« Reply #5 on: 18:35, Mon 12 September 2011 »
Quote from: "brainz"
hi i was going to make a post but because this is a about the rad fan il post here. does anybody know how to wire the fan up to a switch on the dash?

What for? If youre after a get me home bodge then it should be easy enough to wire a switch in place of the sensor. If you want to use it this way permanently then I think you should rehtink your strategy!

markey mark (bd)

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
    • View Profile
Re: rad fan
« Reply #6 on: 18:43, Mon 12 September 2011 »
Quote from: "brainz"
hi i was going to make a post but because this is a about the rad fan il post here. does anybody know how to wire the fan up to a switch on the dash?

Leave it wired uo as Renault intended, if your having to run fan for while you got cooling prob somewhere.
The factory wiring/relay does work well enough if its in good working order.  :wink:
BD Autosport - Renault 5 gt turbo tuning and repairs.

Jeff Ninebar

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ninebarsoundsystem.com/.
Re: rad fan
« Reply #7 on: 14:23, Tue 13 September 2011 »
my 5 has a fan switch and it does my head in, you have to "manage" the cooling system by constantly looking at the temp gauge and flicking the switch on and off, gets very annoying.

denty225

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: rad fan
« Reply #8 on: 13:56, Sat 17 September 2011 »
^and if you forget :(