Author Topic: IceCream in expansion vessel.  (Read 12583 times)

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #45 on: 17:36, Mon 15 August 2011 »
yeah , tried that James . Can get it to idle perfectly , but once about 4k still misses.

Set it all up again today and used lots of swearing and super close looks at TDC marks etc.

Going to take it off on a run in about 1/2 hr.

Cover your ears young James , if it doesnt work you will hear some new swear words.

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #46 on: 18:27, Mon 15 August 2011 »
Nrg !

Didnt work.

Felt smooth , then hesitated and stuttered at 4500rpm.
Ill make it adjustable.
How do I know which way I need to turn the dizzy to dial it in ?

5teve L

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3540
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #47 on: 20:26, Mon 15 August 2011 »
Has it just developed this since the headgasket went ?
Also what did Brigsy say about the carb, was it all good ?
I assume you have the dizzy drive gear in & not a tooth out, it's a right PITA to set sometimes, I used to use a headbolt IIRC & you need to make sure you get it so it's horizontal (or was it vertical, been a while) as you look at it but I forget which has to be left & which right as it has one cut out larger than the other doesn't it ?
I assume also you have tried a working carb or had wideband on it just to eliminate the carb.

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #48 on: 22:19, Mon 15 August 2011 »
I had this issue before swapping out heads .

I think the carb is fine , Brigsy hasnt given it the once over yet.

No AFR either  :oops:

I swear its down to timing. I reckon Ill have to make it adjustable and move it mm by mm until its mint ..

fordy

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #49 on: 22:20, Mon 15 August 2011 »
is the aei vac unit ok?

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #50 on: 22:53, Mon 15 August 2011 »
AFAIK yes ..

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #51 on: 22:59, Mon 15 August 2011 »
Any way of testing ?

I still reckon its the timing , as it did it when I did the engine swap , previous engine was mint ..

Ash-Lee

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4208
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #52 on: 23:05, Mon 15 August 2011 »
Mines doing this!

1st and 2nd gear is fine, 3rd gear it stutters, sometimes bangs, and plumes of black smoke out the back. Almost as if it isn't burning the fuel very well at all.

Cap + Arm, Plugs and leads are all new as well.  :(

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #53 on: 23:08, Mon 15 August 2011 »
I am getting a spare AEI wednesday so Ill let you know if that fixes mine ..

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #54 on: 23:13, Mon 15 August 2011 »
While we are at it Ash-Lee , what have you changed recently ? - if anything ?

Trying to work out a pattern ..

Ash-Lee

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4208
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #55 on: 23:15, Mon 15 August 2011 »
New cap + arm was the most recent.

Just before that was the fuel pump, but it was missing before that was changed aswell. I had decided the missing was down to the worn out cap, but the new one has made no difference at all.

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #56 on: 23:17, Mon 15 August 2011 »
Ok , I changed my cap + arm + leads .

No fixy there.

Going to borrow from the leg end that is Dean a spare AEI and a TDC sensor from a known good.

andybond

  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #57 on: 23:18, Mon 15 August 2011 »
I have made some KERAZY gaffs in the past , but there is no way I have fudged up timing 27 times in a row.

Ash-Lee

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4208
    • View Profile
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #58 on: 23:22, Mon 15 August 2011 »
Cars driving me up the bloody wall this year.

3 weeks of welding for it's MOT.
Lasts a week then it kills a fuel pump.
And now it generally runs like a s**t.

Meh!

James5

  • Global Moderator
  • 200BHP Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
    • View Profile
    • http://www.rtoc.org/boards/member.php?u=34
Re: IceCream in expansion vessel.
« Reply #59 on: 08:20, Tue 16 August 2011 »
Andy, trust me adjustable dizzy will sort it, See if Dean has my old one lying about still if so use that.  it does sound like it's just a tad out.


I take it you have no ice cream mix anymore? was it the head?